Skip To Main Content

Understanding SOL's

The Standards of Learning (SOL)

The Standards of Learning (SOL) are rigorous academic standards, set by the commonwealth, that describe  expectations for student learning and achievement in grades K-12 in English, mathematics, science, history/social science, technology, the fine arts, foreign language, health and physical education, and driver education.

What are the results of SOL Tests used for?
• Measure student mastery of the Standards of Learning.
• Determine accreditation status of schools
• Used when determining Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) for No Child Left Behind

Virginia Grade Level Alternative (VGLA)

The Virginia Grade Level Alternative (VGLA) is an alternative assessment method for Standards of Learning (SOL) testing available for eligible students with disabilities and eligible students with limited English proficiency in grades 3 through 8.

Students who qualify to participate in the VGLA are required to demonstrate individual achievement of grade-level content standards as presented in the SOL test blueprint for the academic content area in which they are being assessed.

For additional VGLA information and resources, please visit the Virginia Department of Educations VGLA website.

The Virginia Alternate Assessment Program (VAAP)

The Virginia Alternate Assessment Program (VAAP) is designed to evaluate the performance of students with significant cognitive disabilities. The VAAP is available to students in grades 3 through 8 and students in grade 11 who have an Aligned Standards of Learning (ASOL).