Return to Headlines

Three Seniors Named Finalists in National Merit Scholarship Program

Kettle Run High School seniors Miles Housley and Natalie Seyler and Fauquier High School senior Mark Zitzmann have advanced to Finalist standing in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  They received a Certificate of Merit in recognition of this accomplishment.  These three students will now move on to the final phase of this program where approximately 7,500 merit scholarship winners will be chosen and awarded scholarship offers. 

Approximately 1.6 million high school students enter the National Merit Program each year by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). That number was narrowed down to approximately 15,000 Finalists. National Merit Scholarship winners of 2019 will be announced beginning in April and will join more than 330,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.